The better liar

“Smart, sinister, and utterly engrossing—this debut delivers.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins. “Like most of the dead,….. Read More

History and international relations : from the ancient world to the 21st century

History and International Relations examines, from a historian’s perspective, the evolution of international relations as a discipline and charts its engagement with the history of war, peace, and foreign relations from the ancient world to the present day. In three parts, it looks at the field’s development, its contribution to historical narrative, and its contemporary practice:….. Read More

Hi five

One woman. Five personalities. Private investigator IQ is back to piece together a Newport Beach murder with an eyewitness who gives “people person” a whole new meaning.Christiana is the daughter of the biggest arms dealer on the West Coast, Angus Byrne. She’s also the sole witness and number one suspect in the murder of her….. Read More

Recipe for a perfect wife

In this captivating dual narrative novel, a modern-day woman finds inspiration in hidden notes left by her home’s previous owner, a quintessential 1950s housewife. As she discovers remarkable parallels between this woman’s life and her own, it causes her to question the foundation of her own relationship with her husband–and what it means to be….. Read More

The song of the tree

The song of the tree

‘A masterwork, every page a sumptuous feast of colour and composition’ – Financial Times, Summer Books of 2020 The lyrical, heart-warming new tale from the award-winning designer and creator of The Fox and the Star Bird loves to sing in the towering tree at the heart of the jungle. It feels like home.When the season changes she….. Read More

The poison garden

The poison garden

A new novel of insidious secrets and chilling revelations surrounding a mysterious cult–the latest gripping psychological thriller from Alex Marwood. When nearly one hundred members of The Ark, a sinister apocalypse cult are found dead by poison at their isolated community in North Wales, those left alive are scattered to the winds with few coping….. Read More

The boatman’s daughter

“Go read Andy Davidson’s lush nightmare, The Boatman’s Daughter. It put an arrow through my head and heart.” —Paul Tremblay, author of Growing Things “Ample bloodshed is offset by beautiful prose . . . A stunning supernatural Southern Gothic.” —Kirkus (starred) Ever since her father was killed when she was just a child, Miranda Crabtree has kept her head….. Read More

If it bleeds

From #1 New York Times bestselling author, legendary storyteller, and master of short fiction Stephen King comes an extraordinary collection of four new and compelling novellas—Mr. Harrigan’s Phone, The Life of Chuck, Rat, and the title story If It Bleeds—each pulling you into intriguing and frightening places. The novella is a form King has returned to over and over again….. Read More

Breath : the new Science of a Lost Art

No matter what you eat, how much you exercise, how skinny or young or wise you are, none of it matters if you’re not breathing properly. There is nothing more essential to our health and well-being than breathing: take air in, let it out, repeat 25,000 times a day. Yet, as a species, humans have….. Read More